I’ve joined a cult

Have you ever been to a cycling class where the music is blasting and everyone is singing the words as they drip in sweat and cycle to the beat? As the teacher flickers the lights and dances and sings and throws his water in the air because he is just so enthused? If the answer is no, you’re severely missing out.

As a former college athlete, I have a real thing for workout classes. I love working out alone too, but there is something about working out alongside others that really triggers that dopamine release.

My friend and I joke that cycling classes feel as close to a cult as we’re going to get. Picture this: it’s 7am and the whole room is screaming Taylor Swift lyrics as we blindly follow the instructor through grinding hills and sprints. And then, of course, we continue to return to the class every week even after getting a thorough butt-whooping. Basically, a cult.

Yesterday, the instructor had everyone wave our white towel in the air during a song to remind everyone that we weren’t going through this alone. He turned on the blue lights so that the towels glowed in the air, all 30 towels waving and swinging to the beat. There was something really majestic and unifying about this moment that symbolized why I love workout classes. I might not know anyone else in the room, but I feel bonded and inspired over the fact that they also would voluntarily and happily sign up for this after work on a Thursday.

4 responses to “I’ve joined a cult”

  1. Melanie Meehan Avatar
    Melanie Meehan

    Love picturing the room twirling the towels. If that’s the cult you want to join, I’m ok with it!

    Like

  2. writingandlaughing Avatar
    writingandlaughing

    How cool is this?! I wish there was something similar offered near me. I’d join, for sure. 💖

    Like

  3. Larkin Meehan Avatar
    Larkin Meehan

    Oh nooooo now I want to go to a cycling class

    Like

  4. carolannclark Avatar
    carolannclark

    I have a love hate relationship with cycling but I agree with the group dynamics part. Great visuals in your writing-I could really see the glow in the dark towels when I read this.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started