Matthew, you’ve made a mistake

I decide to check my email tonight as I’m walking home from a workout class. Walking while checking the phone, I admit, is a little precarious. However, odds are I’m just going to mark all as read and be done with it.

However, in my email I see an email from Orange Theory saying, “Here’s Your Receipt.” Ummm. What? I immediately open the email. There it gets even weirder. It’s a receipt for a 10 session pack as shown below.

Now, I haven’t been to an Orange Theory class in a while, and I most certainly have not bought anything. Luckily, the credit card number doesn’t ring a bell with any of mine. Maybe “Matthew” accidentally somehow sent this email to me. I decide to open my app and have to log-in to my account… still while walking… to see if these classes are in my account.

Okay… there are ten classes there. Man, Matthew must’ve really messed up. He added classes to my account when someone else paid? Someone is going to be missing the classes they paid for.

The thought DOES cross my mind to just take the classes and run, but I decide to be the bigger person and call up the Orange Theory and let them know about the error.

“Hello, this is Matthew speaking.”

“Omg, Matthew. Hi. I just received an email and I think you might have made a mistake and accidentally added classes to my account?”

He laughs. “No, that wasn’t a mistake.”

“Oh. What?” I say.

“Let’s just say, you have a secret admirer.”

Long story short, my friends decided to get me Orange Theory classes as a birthday present. And I tried to return it. Whoops. Definitely gave me and my man Matthew a laugh, though.

4 responses to “Matthew, you’ve made a mistake”

  1. Anita Ferreri Avatar
    Anita Ferreri

    In this era of internet fraud and account problems, your post sucked me in and surprised me as well!!! Sometimes, it really is good news.

    Like

  2. Larkin Meehan Avatar
    Larkin Meehan

    Me and my man Matthew hahahaha. Maybe u can slide me over one of those in ann arbor, hmm?

    Like

  3. britt Avatar
    britt

    “me and my man Matthew” I am YODELING over here hahaha. This was so excellent; I was so tempted to skip to the end to see what happened. What a build up! Such a kind gift from friends – happy (early?) birthday!

    Like

  4. Melanie Meehan Avatar
    Melanie Meehan

    Great present! And great slice! I can’t wait to hear about meeting Matthew!

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started