Yes, I can cook pasta

I last minute agreed to babysit for the family who live below me tonight. It was their anniversary, and the husband texted me wanting to surprise his wife with dinner out. A little bit of extra cash for my Venmo balance? Sure. Worth skipping out on a workout.

I headed down there at 5:20 and was greeted by the three excited kids. Somehow, as someone who admittedly isn’t a huge kid person, I’m their favorite sitter. Guess I can put on a good front for a couple of hours for a good gig.

The mom thanked me excitedly and gave me the babysitting instructions. “There’s leftovers in the fridge and chili I made. And pasta if they want it. Wait… you can make pasta right?”

“Make pasta? Haha yes. I know how to boil water, pour in noodles, and wait ten minutes. Not to worry!”

“You never know these days! Didn’t want to assume anything,” she said.

I’ve gotta say… it’s a little sad that I had to be asked if I know how to make pasta… Is that really the bar my generation has set? If she had the ingredients I could whip up some chicken, vegetables, and sauce for that pasta. However, luckily for my energy levels, the kids liked to eat plain pasta… No olive oil, no butter. Just straight noodles.

2 responses to “Yes, I can cook pasta”

  1. Melanie Meehan Avatar
    Melanie Meehan

    Yes, you can make pasta! And even for a crowd! It’s a pretty low bar– maybe next time she’ll ask you to serve up cereal or make an omelette. You could get even more imporessive!

    Like

  2. Larkin Meehan Avatar
    Larkin Meehan

    Lolllll just straight noodles. I think you’re ready for 9 kids!!!!

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started