Thank you Apple.

A little while ago I stopped being able to hear my phone on audio when it was next to my ear. I could hear it on speaker phone and with my AirPods in, but I could hear nothing when it was just the run-of-the-mill-up-to-the-ear phone call. I also often get complaints from people that I’m breaking in and out, but I’ve always blamed it on external factors…. 

“Ugh, the service is always so bad in my apartment.”

“Wow. It’s so windy out, it must be interfering with my audio.” 

“Hmmm. My AirPods might not be working well.”

Well. This past week I finally decided to take my phone to an apple store to get checked out due to the audio problem. Ten minutes later, after a full diagnostic, the guy comes back to me and said he had some bad news. 

“Not only is the speaker system shot, but your cellular is also failing.”

“My… cellular?”

“Yup. Do you ever drop calls randomly? It’s not completely down right now, but at some point you’ll only be able to call on wifi.”

The pieces start clicking into place. You mean to tell me that AT&T doesn’t just have terrible service in the entire Boston city? That makes…. too much sense. Maybe if I had my $300 checking account bonus I’d consider a new phone, but for now, we’re sticking with speaker phone calls only and waiting it out until I’m unreachable. Wish me luck. 

3 responses to “Thank you Apple.”

  1. bammeehan Avatar
    bammeehan

    you’re really having a tough week

    Like

  2. Larkin Meehan Avatar
    Larkin Meehan

    I feel so validated by the entire ‘you hung up’ ‘no you hung up’ ‘no i did not, it was you’ conversations. that blows.

    Like

  3. Melanie Meehan Avatar
    Melanie Meehan

    Maybe you should set up a Go Fund Me account for new devices. I’m not ready for you to be unreachable.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started