Please don’t mention it’s my birthday

I have to say, my first day on the slicing community did not disappoint! And this year, I get to actually read my mom’s post she writes every year on my birthday and comment on it from my own slicing blog! How fun. Thank you everyone for the warm welcome!

This morning, in typical Julia fashion, I decided to go to a 7am workout class, and I couldn’t just take the T there like a normal human, but I had to walk there. If you read Larkin’s post earlier this month then you’d know I walk everywhere. SolidCore is about a 50 minute walk, so I left my apartment at 6:10am. 

SolidCore normally has a sign at the front desk that celebrates milestones— 25 classes, 100 classes, and … birthdays. I actually was dreading this part. I am not someone who likes to be put in the spotlight. Plus, the instructor was not one I normally go to, and it was way too early in the morning… I was uncomfortable just thinking about it. 

However, when I arrived this morning, there was no sign up. I walked out of there 1 hour later after a killer class with no awkward talk about it being my birthday. What an absolute success.

My patient for today cancelled, so I could have worked from home, but my co-workers really wanted to see me. “Ok, ok,” I told Olivia and Diego. “I’ll be there.”

As soon as I arrive at work, Diego pulls out his backpack and says, “I have the first part of your gift in here, but you have to promise beforehand that you’ll use it.” 

I look between him and Olivia, already knowing they’re up to no good. “I don’t know about that… is it another sash?” For Diego’s birthday earlier this month, we made him wear a birthday sash for the day, and our head doctor even made him stop and pose for a picture.

“No, no, not a sash,” he says. “You have to promise.”

“Okay, I promise,” I said. 

He pulls out the gift, and I immediately groan. It is not just just a birthday crown, but a sparkly birthday crown. 

“We know how much you love the attention, so we just had to make you wear this for the day.” 

Guess one can only get away with so much on their birthday… 

P.S. No one say the word insurance. I’m still in mourning.

9 responses to “Please don’t mention it’s my birthday”

  1. Larkin Meehan Avatar
    Larkin Meehan

    Bahahah the last sentence took me a second to realize you’re 26. That’s crazy because I feel like I left Mom’s insurance last year. It sucks… let’s invent time travel and just stay at 25 forever. I do like your crown though.

    Like

  2. Larkin Meehan Avatar
    Larkin Meehan

    Also happy birthday

    Like

  3. Fran McCrackin Avatar
    Fran McCrackin

    Hahaha, thank you, Larking, for explaining that last bit to me!
    You might be new to this challenge but you sure know how to write an effective and wonderful small moment “slice”! I enjoyed your birthday lack of attention, and too much attention.

    Like

  4. Leigh Anne Eck Avatar
    Leigh Anne Eck

    Happy birthday! What special co-workers!

    Like

  5. jodimahoney Avatar
    jodimahoney

    I’m with you. I’m a no-attention birthday girl. I love that you walk 50 minutes to the exercise class. That’s dedication!

    Like

  6. carolannclark Avatar
    carolannclark

    I loved this! Having 3 daughters, ages 22, 24 and 26 I completely understood the insurance reference. Thanks for sharing your day with us. Lastly, our blog design is exactly the same so when I clicked on your link, at first I thought I made a mistake and clicked on my own blog. LOL

    Like

  7. Lainie Levin Avatar
    Lainie Levin

    Whooo! 26! That means you’re in the next age demographic to click. =)

    I understand the desire to not have a birthday made a big deal of, especially from people I’m not all that close to. But let the record stand…if my kids want to spoil me, I will not stop them!

    Like

  8. Jessica Carey Avatar
    Jessica Carey

    Welcome to the challenge. So glad you’ve joined your family. I’ve Enjoyed getting to know your sisters through your mom’s writing over the years and it’s fun to read your words now.

    Like

  9. Elisabeth Ellington Avatar
    Elisabeth Ellington

    Happy birthday! This was such an engaging slice to read, and I love the photo. That is NOT a subtle crown.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started