Welcome to Slicing

Last night my sister sent her blog posts to me and after reading, I had this urge to join??? Now, I’m sure most don’t join over halfway through the month, but I’ve always been indecisive and figure better late than never. Now in terms of what has motivated me to join, I’ve made a list below. I can’t say I’m joining on the most academic of merits, but hope you accept me nonetheless. 

  1. I admit I am completely driven by my fear of being excluded from my mom and sisters who all participate. Do they have a group chat without me??? Is this a daily discussion?? Let me in please. 
  2. As a chronic overachiever and near problematic competitor, I just can’t be the daughter who is not up to my mom’s writing challenge. This comes as no surprise to anyone that knows me. It was fine when it was one sister, but I draw the line at two.
  3. I am totally curious about this blog community — what do you mean people who don’t know you read your posts and comment on them? I have this vision of slicing being a just my mom thing, but clearly that’s not the case. 
  4. Last and probably least (don’t cancel me yet) is the desire to push my writing skills, but maybe this order will change by the end of the month. I admit… that might be the case if I did this for the whole month, but fourteen days might be pushing it. We’ll see!

Since I am new to this slicing game, some things to know beforehand. First off, I’m not a writer. Don’t expect anything grand or spectacular please. Normally I get to have my mom or sister proofread everything I write. And secondly, I am not promising my return next year, so please don’t get attached. Anyway, I figure I should have this intro post, as well as an actual slice since I am late the the party, so welcome, and I hope to not disappoint.  

8 responses to “Welcome to Slicing”

  1. Larkin Meehan Avatar
    Larkin Meehan

    Hahahahhaha the list is too good. We actually don’t have a group chat, but now that you’re here… maybe we should.

    Like

  2. Stacey Shubitz Avatar
    Stacey Shubitz

    “It was fine when it was one sister, but I draw the line at two.”
    Oh, Julia! #1, as an only child, I can understand the energy of this! I’d probably feel the same way.

    “I am not promising my return next year, so please don’t get attached.”
    We’re gonna hook you!

    Regardless, welcome!

    Like

  3. Fran McCrackin Avatar
    Fran McCrackin

    Ha ha, well, WELCOME! I for one am happy to read the whole Meehan family, and you say ‘don’t get attached’ but I look forward to getting to know YOU!
    I love your honest voice, with your family FOMO and pride. So do it! We’re glad you came on board.

    Like

  4. Leigh Anne Eck Avatar
    Leigh Anne Eck

    Welcome! I have to admit I chuckled the entire way through this. You many claim to not be a writer, but your voice certainly shines in this! I hope you continue to write and to find what we all love about being in this community!

    Like

  5. bammeehan Avatar
    bammeehan

    WOOOHOOO!! Not a writer, but you have a voice throughout it, so I have to disagree.

    Like

  6. Trish Avatar
    Trish

    “They say it’s your birthday! Happy Birthday to you.” The Beatles said that. I say, “Welcome to the Challenge, whatever brought you here—even if it’s a near-unhealthy competitive drive or a fear of being left out.” Fun to read what you’ve done so far, so you’re a writer in my book! Have a great day. (Maybe another 75-year old will wander in with a great book to share. You never know!)

    Like

  7. Erika Avatar
    Erika

    Welcome! Another Meehan writing, indeed! Better late than never is a good motto- we need all sorts of writers!

    Like

  8. Fran Haley Avatar
    Fran Haley

    Hello, Julia, and welcome! I’ve been Slicing here awhile and I want you to know that your writing is a delight to read. You ARE a writer. Every sentence sparkles with wit and personality. Your narrative voice is strong. Never mind joining late – write and push yourself as you said; you will be surprised. This is an incredibly supportive community and that makes all the difference. This is one thing I’ve learned: When you show up for the writing, it shows up for you. It has for me – most of the time, anyway! Just keep going!

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started