The Magic of Fourth Wing

I work as a clinical research assistant in movement disorders. This morning, I had a VIP patient coming in (VIP often = $ but you didn’t hear it from me). He finished one appointment very early, so he had some time before we were ready for his visit.

“Not to worry,” he said. “I’m reading a great book.”

When I met him downstairs 30 minutes later, as an avid reader myself, I had to ask what book.

“Oh, it’s Yarros… Fourth Wing?” He said.

“Omg. You’re reading Fourth Wing???” I asked.

“Yes, well, I’m actually on the second now. I finished the first. It’s so good.” He looked at my co-worker who clearly hadn’t read the book. “It’s about dragonsssss,” he whispered.

I laughed. I can’t say I had any expectation to have the same reading habits as a 75-year-old man, but alas, it did lend itself to conversation. He went on to tell me about how he picked up the first one from an airport in the Philippines and was not able to put it down throughout his month traveling about East Asia. Least to say he read it in a lot cooler of a place than I did.

I texted Larkin immediately after telling her about the encounter, and she goes, “Julia! There’s your first slice!” So happy first day slicing — we’ll hopefully be back tomorrow.

7 responses to “The Magic of Fourth Wing”

  1. Larkin Meehan Avatar
    Larkin Meehan

    Stunning! Beautiful! Amazing! Baby’s first slice! Also, I’m glad people are finally realizing that The Fourth Wing is for everyone.

    Like

  2. Stacey Shubitz Avatar
    Stacey Shubitz

    Look at this! Your sister is your writing mentor already!
    And she was right, you DID have a slice, right there.
    As lovely as it is that you have similar reading habits to the 75-year-old patient, I have to admit that I roared when I read, “(VIP often = $ but you didn’t hear it from me).” 🙂

    Welcome to this community of writers. I can tell you’re going to fit in beautifully!

    Like

  3. Fran McCrackin Avatar
    Fran McCrackin

    Hi Julia, just a tech note here. After your teaser, dont leave more than a single space, OR hit enter. That way you can avoid the big text boxes. Thanks!

    Like

  4. Fran McCrackin Avatar
    Fran McCrackin

    I love hearing about this encounter, and the different ages enjoying the same fantasy literature. I’ll be looking it up for myself (I fit in between your two ages!)

    Like

  5. Lisa Corbett Avatar
    Lisa Corbett

    I love that book! I am on the library waiting list for the next one. I also love that you were able to connect with someone over a book! That’s my favourite way to start a conversation.

    Like

  6. Melanie Meehan Avatar
    Melanie Meehan

    Your first slice! Coached by Larkin and welcomed by mentors! Love this! You’re funny, insightful, and inspiring!

    Like

  7. bammeehan Avatar
    bammeehan

    This was the best surprise EVER!!!!! So excited to have ya

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started